Simplicity 2830 #2


I didn’t get to work on the pattern last night.  We stopped by Wal-mart to pick up some plain white thread.  I hadn’t gotten more than the red color that I’m going to use for the project, so when the direction calls for me to baste two pieces together before seeming them together, I was caught without a contrasting color.  So I figured white would be good since it’s one of those all-purpose colors that I’ll be able to use later.  They didn’t have any black though and I was going to pick up a spool of that too. 

I’m getting a little discouraged though.  The pattern instructions are really vague, and the pictures/diagrams that are included are less than helpful.  I’m having issues when it tells me to “press under seam allowance”.  What the heck does that mean?  I think I’ve decided that I’m going to take a deep breath and just jump in.  I’m pretty sure I cut out my fabric wrong to begin with, so I’m glad that it was cheep. 

I’ve read a few reviews of the pattern on Pattern Review.com and they all seem to say the say the same thing… the directions suck and that the bag needs a lining… I’m not that advanced yet, so I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it on a different project.

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Sewing Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

