Trent’s “House Socks”


So I finished my first sock the other day and was so proud of it.  I bound of the edge and went to put it on, and to my dismay/disappointment/or what ever you want to call it, I couldn’t get the sock on over my ankle.  The top of the sock was too tight.  I had to cut it to even get it up and over my heal.  I was so sad.  I had worked so hard knitting that sock.

I decided not to get discouraged and vowed that I would do better next time.  I figured I just needed to practice a bit more… so that’s what I did.

These “house socks” are for Trent (just because they are huge and gray). I used several different patterns to make these and I just kind of mixed and matched different cast-on, toe increase, heal and bind offs to create them.  I used a no-wrap short row heal (and as you can see I need some more practice.  Good thing I have another sock to go.) I used a yarn over bind off, which is now too loose (but that’s better than too tight, at least he’ll be able to get in on his foot.) I think for the matching sock I will do a yarn over bind off, but not for every stitch… maybe every other?

I used Caron’s Simply Soft in Grey Heather with two #3 circs.  These were knitted toe up with a Turkish cast-on.

The Toe

The Yarn

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on April 11, 2011, in Knit Wit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

