Police Chief Tells Parents To Hack Kids’ Facebook Accounts | Techdirt


Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Ok, I’m not going to say that it’s obvious that this guy (Mike Masnick) has no kids, but come on now? I know I have two kids that are old enough and they do use social networking sites.  I don’t “hack” into their accounts, but if they want them, they give me their log in information so that I can make spot checks.  It’s not about trusting them, it’s about the fact that I don’t trust all the crazies out there.  I know as a 15-year old girl I wouldn’t have stopped and ask the questions I should about the identity of the individual on the other end of the Internet.  So good for the police chief.  I think in the US our society is a little too focused on making everyone feel good and not concerned about speaking the truth…. Just my $0.02 worth.

Police Chief Tells Parents To Hack Kids’ Facebook Accounts

from the trust-is-so-last-century dept

Chrys Matyszcyk points us to a report about how a police chief in New Jersey is running seminars for parents on how to hack their kids’ Facebook accounts and install spyware and keyloggers to spy on everything they do. There’s so much wrong with the claims by Mahwah Police Chief James Batelli, it’s difficult to know where to start.

via Police Chief Tells Parents To Hack Kids’ Facebook Accounts | Techdirt.

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on February 18, 2011, in Technology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

