Personal Journal #13: It is easier than it looks…


While I was down in FL I let myself go just a little bit.  I started off trying to be good as I could, but with all the eating out we had to do, it was nearly impossible to stay on my diet like I did at home.  When I got home, I was really scared to get on the scale.  I thought I had gained back at least 10 pounds.  At least that’s what I was scared of. So I stepped on the scale, and was happy to see that I had only gained back 3 pounds.

Since I’ve been back, I find that I’m back to reading labels and figuring out the correct portion sizes for my meals.  I’m happy to say, as of today, I was back to where I was when I left for FL.  I’m sure that most of the weight gain may have been water weight, so that’s even better.  I don’t cook with as much salt as the restaurants do, so I don’t think I will retain as much water here at home.

Jason and I went for a walk last night.  It wasn’t our longest, but it was pretty good little 20 min trip around the block.  I think I’m going to be able to make it to the gym today if my sister-in-law (you know who you are) goes this afternoon.  I’m cooking dinner tonight, and walks on nights when I cook just set dinner back so late. I’m also hoping I can squeeze in a nap. Waking up at 3:30 was not fun.  I was alert and focused at first, but now all I want to do is close my eyes and get under my desk to take a nap (a la Seinfeld).

So I just wanted to say that it was easy picking the oatmeal this morning over the onion bagel slathered with cream cheese and oven baked smoked sausage. Although that would have been an awesome breakfast, I know it’s not what I need, so I don’t feel deprived for not having it.

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on May 26, 2010, in Personal Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

