Personal Journal #10 – Good doctors and good times


Wow, I’m getting a little sleepy from my medication.  I have noticed that if I don’t eat enough after I take it, that I get sleepier. But that’s not what I want to write about.  I want tot talk about the trip to my doctor today.

So when I went in for my physical, I had this problem with my toes.  I’m ashamed to say it, but I had some pretty bad ingrown toe nails.  This is one of those things that people just suffer with cause they don’t want to tell their doctor.  I don’t hear a lot of people talking about their toe nails.  I think as a general rule, people’s feet are usually not conversation starters. Anyway, I went to the podiatrist today so he could do something about my poor toes.

So he looked things over, and he decided he need to cut the toe nails off.  Now, I had this done once when I was a teenager. I remember it and when he said what he was going to do I started to freak out, even though I knew that he was probably going to do what he did.  I started to weep and shake.  The doctor was so good about it… he started to ask about the kids and telling stories while he was numbing the toes.  Normally I’m not so crazed about medical procedures, I like to watch them, I’ve even assisted on a few autopsies.  So this was a completely odd reaction for me. Needless to say, things went so well, that tomorrow I’ll be able to cover my toes with just band-aids.

So after my procedure, I was driving home and it hit me that I was feeling pretty good about myself.  I’m doing well with the weight loss, and I realized that it’s something to be proud of.  This has been a good week so far.  I don’t know how long this will last before I hit that wall, but right now things are going well and I’m thankful for that.

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on May 11, 2010, in Personal Journal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

