Personal Journal #7 – I’ve been a bad girl, but it’s ok…


I haven’t been updating my food journal or blood sugar numbers for a few days.  The good thing is that for the most part I’ve kept on track. I know that by recording everything that passes my lips, I am forced to acknowledge the dietary significance of the foods I’m eating. Like I said, I still did pretty good this weekend.

It was hard, we like to eat out on the weekends.  Luckily, for the most part I was able to find things I could eat.  On Saturday I had a Chicken Wrap from Sonic.  It only had 14.5g of fat and it tasted pretty good.  I did splurge though; I ate one of Jason’s jalapeno poppers. I only had one, and it didn’t make my tummy feel bad, so it must not have had too much fat.  Then again it was only one.  If I had eaten the entire box like I would have a month ago, it would have been a different story.

Last night we had Chinese.  I ate mostly rice, which is bad for the blood sugar, but is low in fat.  It wasn’t fired, it was just the plain white rice.  I did get some chicken pieces to go with it, but not even an entire serving, and I tried to limit the sauces.  So all in all I think I did ok.  The problem is that I feel bad about what I did since I don’t know exactly how bad it was.

I stumbled upon an article today on Spark People that sort of explained why I feel so down on myself after I’ve slipped up.  I liked where this guy was coming from.  It’s all about the guilt and my conscience and managing my expectations about how I treat myself.  So from now on, when I want to eat something, I will stop and ask myself if I’m treating MYSELF with respect if I do this. I think this will allow me to make better decisions and not feel bad about the result. The point is to learn how to forgive myself for the slip ups and learn how to avoid them in the future.

P.S. For lunch today I’m going to have the Lean Cuisine Alfredo Pasta w/ Chicken and Broccoli. I’ll have a 100-calorie pack of Cheez-Itz and a 100-calorie pack of Grasshoppers and a no sugar added pudding.  There is a banana in there somewhere too.

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on May 3, 2010, in Personal Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

