Personal Journal #5 – Give me strength


Ok, I’m about to be really over this diet crap. I’m so hungry and it’s really depressing to think about the wonderful Lean Cuisine that’s waiting for me at home. Oh how I long for the days when I could just go and eat what I wanted from what ever restaurant we wanted to go to. It kind of sucks that we can’t go out to eat anymore for dates cause I can’t eat the food at the restaurants. It either has too much fat or to many carbs. I just feel like crying. I can’t let my blood sugar get too high so I need to stay away from excessive processed carbs. I need to lose weight so I need to stay under 18g of fat per meal. Have you tried to stay under 18g of fat per meal and only take in around 1400 calories per day? I have no idea what to do for dinner tonight. We won’t be getting home until after 8 and I don’t feel like cooking. It’s been a long day. I guess it’s only fair I suffer since I’ve been doing what ever I’ve wanted for years… but this f*ing sucks!

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on April 30, 2010, in Personal Journal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I totally understand. I have been struggling with my weight for years but I have to admit, some of that is my own laziness but I have minor health problems as well. It’s a constant struggle that can be hard to deal with.

  2. Going on a diet is always tough. Personally, I try to seek out foods that are filling but not fatty such as beans, yams, and sweet potatoes. Also, if you cook your own food, you can better control how much fat is in your meals…steamed, broiled, and grilled foods tend to have less fat than ones that are pan-fried. If you go out to eat and it has “too much” of something…eat half of it instead of the whole plate. I find especially with pasta, I end up taking 3/4 of it home…for 3+ meals because of the portion size. Good luck! =)

  3. Lesley Reynolds

    @Iceflow doesn’t it just absolutely suck? I was so hungry tonight. I ended up going to Taco Bell… that’s right, I faltered. It wasn’t too bad though. I’m allowed to have 1800 calories a day and 18g of fat per meal. I figured between my 160 calorie 4g fat breakfast and my 600 calorie 5g fat lunch, I had a little wiggle room tonight. I ended up having the fresco chicken soft tacos… let’s not tell anyone else about the gordita, rice and nachos with cheese, we can just keep that between us. 😉 In all seriousness, the worse thing was the gordita and in the grand scheme of things, it really wasn’t that bad. I felt a little bad about it, but then I started to think about what I’ve eaten the last week, which isn’t that much. I think I’ve dropped close to 10 pounds in the last 3 weeks. I just need folks like you to help me keep it up.

    @justfortuitous I should have thought of eating some at dinner and then taking the rest home. I guess when I looked at the nutrition information, I should keep in mind that I really can eat some now and save some for later. Restaurant portions are usually a lot larger than they really need to be, so it would be easier to cut down on the calories, fat and carbs by watching the portion control. Thanks for the support and ideas.

    And to you both, thanks for the read!

Leave a Reply

