Personal Journal #1 – You have lots of meds mom


That’s what Beth just said to me.  And it’s true. A week ago I was blissfully unaware of the health ticking time bombs that were waiting in me.  I had sneaky feelings that I might have high cholesterol and high blood sugar(aka diabetes), but I wasn’t sure, so I could just ignore it and put it aside.  Not anymore.  In the last week I’ve had 2 appointments with my primary care physician, lab work, x-rays, MRI’s and I’m now wearing a 24-hour heart monitor.  I still need to make appointments with a neurologist and podiatrist.  Next week I’ll get to see the cardiologist to get my heart monitor results.  I went from being on no medications, to one for control my blood sugar and one to help with the side effects of my peripheral neuropathy caused by the high blood sugar.  I’m also on a 10-day course of antibiotics too.  I’m taking so many medications right now I had to get a pill organizer just to keep things straight.

I’m feeling like all this change is a bit over whelming.  The side effects of the drugs range from sleepiness (not an all together bad thing) to bowl disruptions (i.e. diarrhea or constipation).  Most of the health problems have come from my obesity.  There isn’t a way to sugar coat things. I am 5’6″ and two weeks ago I weighed 270 pounds. in two weeks I’ve managed to shave off 7 pounds.  Can you say Godzilla?  After I got out of the Army 9-years ago, I just didn’t care anymore.  No one was expecting me to eat right or exercise, so I didn’t.  I sat back and just let it happen.

I do have one thing going for me, I don’t eat for emotional reasons.  Just because I have a bad day doesn’t mean I break out the box of Ho-Ho’s and go to town.  Nope, I just like the way food tastes, especially fat and sweet food.  Chocolate and cheese are my week points.  So not only am I on these new medications, I have to lose weight.  But trying to cut out the fat to lower my cholesterol and the carbs (aka sugar) to get my diabetes under control, was just too much.  I can eat really big salads and that’s about it.  To help me on my quest I’m taking Alli.  I sweat this stuff works not because it blocks fat absorption, but because I’m terrified of the treatment effects so I don’t eat the fat in the first place.

Anyway, to deal with all these changes, and other stuff going on in my life, I’ve decided to start this self serving daily (mostly) journal about my life.  A sort of “Captain’s Log” if you will.  Hopefully in 100 years when my great, great grandchildren go looking for information on their ancestors, at least they will be able to see what things were like for me.  I’m pretty sure this won’t be grammatically correct or pretty, but I don’t really care.  This is just a place to vent about the crap going on in my life.  With any luck you all will find it funny and/or informative.  If not, sucks to be you. 🙂

About Lesley Reynolds

Wife, mom, professional... Pictures, gym, hiking, knitting, sewing, spinning, reading, movies, TV... Facebook, Blog and Twitter...

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Personal Journal. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If I know you, this will be a breeze. You work, go to school, and raise a family all at the same time. It will take a lot of effort and will power, but I know you can do it! You have plenty of people around you for support. If you need it – we are here!

Leave a Reply

